Strategic Planning


Faculty retreat

On October 2, 2020, we hosted our annual ColoradoSPH all faculty meeting. The focus of the meeting was addressing structural racism, diversity, equity, and inclusion in public health. Units shared their current and planned initiatives as well as recommended readings and resources.

Town hall: Dismantling racism and advancing inclusive excellence

On July 22, 2020, Dean Samet hosted a town hall with 173 participants to introduce the Colorado School of Public Health Draft Plan for Dismantling Structural Racism and Advancing Inclusive Excellence. The town hall follows on the commitments built into the Strategic Plan to strengthen the ColoradoSPH community by fostering inclusive excellence, to ensure that diversity, equity, and inclusion are central to the school’s academics, research, practice, and service. This will be the first in a series of open discussions on these critical and urgent topics.

The strategic plan and process

The Colorado School of Public Health Strategic Planning Process that will chart our school’s future for the coming five years is now underway. 

A 12-person Steering Committee representing the school's three campuses, its diverse disciplines and programs, and its faculty, staff, and students was formed and meets regularly throughout the strategic planning process. Thus far, this process has included:

  1. the development of an overall and accepted plan by the Steering Committee
  2. implementation of working groups with foci determined by the Steering Committee through an open process
  3. development of reports by the groups for communication to the school and revision after feedback
  4. agreement on the final report and its recommendations (read the ColoradoSPH Stakeholder Interview Report 2019)
  5. groups external to the school, e.g., the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, were asked to provide input. 

The ColoradoSPH Strategic Plan that was developed by the Steering Committee and its Working Groups in 2019. This report is now being reviewed by further subcommittees and specific tactics and measurements are being added. 

Meet our members

  • John Adgate, Environmental and Occupational Health
  • Chloe Bennion, Staff 
  • Kendra Bigsby, Colorado State University 
  • Cathy Bradley, Health Systems, Management and Policy
  • Martha Henze, MPH Student
  • John Hokanson, Epidemiology
  • Cerise Hunt, Center for Public Health Practice/Community and Behavioral Health 
  • John Kittelson, Biostatistics and Informatics
  • Molly Lamb, Center for Global Health/Epidemiology
  • Tracy Nelson, Colorado State University 
  • Lee Newman, Center for Health Work & Environment/Environmental and Occupational Health
  • Jini Puma, Community and Behavioral Health 
  • Teresa Sharp, University of Northern Colorado 
  • Anne Starling, LEAD/Epidemiology 

Working groups

Working group leadership is comprised of many Steering Committee members.

  • Working Group 1: Education: Co-leads Teresa Sharp and Molly Lamb, with Chloe Bennion as member
  • Working Group 2: Research: Co-leads Jini Puma and John Adgate, with Cathy Bradley and John Hokanson as members
  • Working Group 3: Public Health Practice: Co-leads Lee Newman and Virginia Visconti
  • Working Group 4: School Life and Diversity: Co-leads Cerise Hunt and Anne Starling, with Chloe Bennion, Mary Dinger, a student member (Martha Henze), Carolyn DiGuiseppi, and Dana Dabelea as members
  • Working Group 5: School as a Unit: Three co-leads, representing each campus: Dani Brittain, Tracy Nelson, and John Kittelson with Cathy Bradley and Jon Samet as members.