Dean's Advisory Board

Mission and Purpose

The Dean’s Advisory Board at the Colorado School of Public Health (ColoradoSPH) is a group of trusted volunteers who serve in an advisory capacity concerning matters related to the school’s mission, strategic direction, and state and/or regional priorities and needs. The board is comprised of public health experts, organization leaders, and other stakeholders committed to creating a healthier future for all. Advice is regularly sought on topics like governance and board development, strategic planning, financial planning and implementation, development and external affairs, and other special projects identified by the Dean or the board. The ColoradoSPH board members provide critical leadership, advocacy, and resource development to ensure the continued successes of the school.

Board Roles and Responsibilities

Advise the dean and school leadership on strategic, operational, and fiscal matters.
Participate in task forces or committees for various strategic activities.
Provide feedback on marketing and communications.
Facilitate introductions and attend engagement meetings with the dean or school leadership.
Support recruiting key volunteers and committee members to support school programs. 
Act as advocates and ambassadors for the school in the community.
Aid in prospecting individual, corporate, and foundation donors.
Contribute financially, either personally or through board and/or employer-designated gifts, to a program or fund. 
And, attend a minimum of three board meetings and two school-sponsored events annually. 


Voting Board Members


The Colorado School of Public Health Advisory Board includes community leaders from across the State of Colorado, including the following:

Chair: Chris Wiant, Former President & CEO, Caring for Colorado Foundation
Donna Boucher, Retired Founder & President, Bates Group Inc.
Judith Albino, CU President Emerita & Professor Emerita, ColoradoSPH & School of Dental Medicine
Cody Belzley, Principal, Common Good Consulting
Cathy Bradley, Dean & Professor, Colorado School of Public Health
Bob Daugherty, Dean Emeritus, University of Nevada School of Medicine
Arthur Davidson, Director, Public Health Informatics, Epidemiology & Preparedness, Denver Public Health
Elaine Ganz Berman, President Emerita, DPS, former member of the Colorado State Board of Education
Frank Judson, Professor Emeritus, CU School of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) & ColoradoSPH
R.J. Ross, Co-Founder, President & CEO, Samaritan Ministry & Samaritan Institute Foundation
Jonathan Samet, Dean Emeritus and Professor, Colorado School of Public Health
Alexis Sgouros, Vice President of Analytics for Colorado & Information Officer, Kaiser Permanente
George Sparks, President & CEO, Denver Museum of Nature & Science
Claudia Steiner, Executive Director, Institute for Health Research, Kaiser Permanente


Ex-Officio Board Members

The Dean's senior administration, including campus directors, associate and assistant deans, and CU Advancement representatives, are ex-officio members of the Advisory Board.

Christina Abel, Director of Communications & Marketing
Dani Brittain, Associate Dean for Academics & Student Affairs
Ned Calonge, Associate Dean for Public Health Practice
Cerise Hunt, Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Christine Gillen, Associate Dean for Administration & Finance
Michelle Kuba, Assistant Dean of Operations 
Travis Leiker, Assistant Dean of External Relations
Sam MaWhinney, Associate Dean for Faculty
Tracy Nelson, Director, ColoradoSPH at Colorado State University (CSU)
Rhonda Truesdale, Director of Human Resources and Employee Wellbeing
Patricia Valverde, Director, ColoradoSPH at the University of Northern Colorado (UNC)

CMS Login