Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is the principal unit of faculty governance. Senat​e membership is comprised of a number of Voting Faculty representatives from each department within ColoradoSPH, proportional to the number of voting faculty within that unit relative to the total number of voting faculty in the School. Each representative serves a three-year term.

Members of the Voting Faculty at all partner and affiliated institutions are eligible for election as representatives to the Faculty Senate. Each Department’s representatives to the Faculty Senate are chosen to ensure that faculty holding tenure-track or tenure-eligible and non-tenure-track (clinical-teaching and research) primary appointments at ColoradoSPH are included. In addition, there is proportional representation for each unit from our academic partners at CU Anschutz, CSU and UNC.

The Faculty Senate provides representation for the faculty of ColoradoSPH, including those based at the lead and partner institutions. The Senate presents the issues and concerns of the faculty and seeks action when required; provides a representative group with which others can communicate issues or new initiatives to the faculty; makes recommendations to the Dean and Executive Council on matters of educational, scholarly, clinical, and designated administrative issues in the School -- with the exception of recommendations for faculty personnel actions, student promotions and honors, and student and faculty disciplinary actions.

Key contacts

Mary Sammel ScD

Professor, Associate Director (CIDA)

Joan O'Connell PhD

Associate Professor

Standing committees

Standing Committees of the school that officially report to Faculty Senate and act as an advisory committee to the Dean or one of the Associate Deans include the: 

  • Admissions Committee
  • Appointments, Promotion and Tenure Committee
  • Education and Curriculum Committee
  • Research Committee
  • Space and Facilities Committee

Visit the "Committees and Councils" page​ to learn more about all ColoradoSPH Standing Committees and other committees including Alumni Engagement, Awards, Inclusive Excellence, Wellness and Student Council.


All members of the 2021-2022 Senate include:

  • Chrissy Chard, PhD, Associate Professor, Community & Behavioral Health (Health & Exercise Science, CSU)
  • Lori Crane, PhD, Professor, Community & Behavioral Health (President-Elect)
  • Linda Cook, PhD, Professor, Epidemiology
  • Carolyn DiGuiseppi, PhD, Associate Dean for Faculty and Professor, Epidemiology (non-voting)
  • Liz Gilbert, PhD, Associate Professor, Community & Behavioral Health (Community Health Education, UNC)
  • Carston Goerg, PhD, Assistant Professor, Biostatistics & Informatics
  • Kathy James, PhD, MSPH, MSCE, Research Assistant Professor, Environmental & Occupational Health​ (Secretary)
  • Greg Kinney, PhD, Research Assistant Professor, Epidemiology
  • Lee Newman, MD, Distinguished Professor, Environmental & Occupational Health
  • Joan O'Connell, PhD, Associate Professor, Community & Behavioral Health (Past President)
  • Jon Samet, MD, MS, Dean and Professor, Epidemiology and Environmental & Occupational Health (non-voting)
  • Mary Sammel, PhD, Professor, Biostatistics & Informatics (President)
  • Greg Tung, PhD, Assistant Professor, Health Systems, Management & Policy
  • Adane Wogu, PhD, Assistant Professor, Biostatistics & Informatics
  • Vivien Zhou, PhD, Assistant Professor, Community & Behavioral Health