Directory Profile

Headshot of Spero Manson

Spero Manson PhD

Distinguished Professor, Director (CAIANH)
  • Centers for American Indian & Alaska Native Health
  • Department of Community & Behavioral Health


Primary Phone:303-724-1444

Mailing Address:
  • CU Anschutz

Nighthorse Campbell Native Health Building

13055 East 17th Avenue

Aurora, CO 80045

Spero M. Manson, PhD (Pembina Chippewa) is a distinguished professor of public health and psychiatry, directs the Centers for American Indian & Alaska Native Health, and occupies the Colorado Trust Chair in American Indian Health within the Colorado School of Public Health at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus. A medical anthropologist, he completed his training at the University of Minnesota (1980) and a psychiatric internship at the Oregon Health Sciences University. His programs include 10 national centers, which pursue research, program development, training, and collaboration with 250 Native communities, spanning rural, reservation, urban, and village settings across the country. Dr. Manson has acquired over $200 million in sponsored research to support this work and published 280 articles and book chapters on the assessment, epidemiology, treatment, and prevention of physical, alcohol, drug, as well as mental health problems over the developmental life span of Native people. Dr. Manson is widely acknowledged as one of the nation’s leading authorities in regard to Indian and Native health.

Areas of Expertise

  • Assessment, epidemiology, treatment, and prevention of physical, mental health, alcohol, and drug problems in American Indian and Alaska Native populations
  • Research career development of early-state investigators

Education, Licensure & Certifications

  • PhD, Anthropology, University of Minnesota, 1980
  • MA, Anthropology, University of Minnesota, 1975
  • BA, Anthropology, University of Washington, 1972



  • Elizabeth Fries Health Education Award, CDC Foundation, 2021
  • Regents Fellow, American College of Psychiatrists, 2020
  • Carl Taube Award for Lifetime Contribution to the Field of Mental Health, American Public Health Association, 2019
  • Bronislaw Malinowski Award, Society for Applied Anthropology, 2019
  • Special recognition award, Indian Health Service, 1985, 1996, 2004, 2011
  • Health Disparities Award for Excellence, National Institutes of Health, 2008
  • Distinguished Mentor Award, Gerontological Society of America, 2006, 2007
  • George Foster Award for Excellence, Society for Medical Anthropology, 2006
  • Nickens Award, Association of American Medical Colleges, 2006
  • Elected Member, National Academy of Medicine, 2002
  • Rema Lapouse Mental Health Epidemiology Award, American Public Health Association, 1998

CMS Login